The Adblock Project Forum Index The Adblock Project
Pull up a seat ...stay a while.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

and how do I block this?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Adblock Project Forum Index -> Main
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Bernt
Guest





PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2004    Post subject: and how do I block this? Reply with quote

Could anyone, in a good and patient manner, explain to me how I should go about in order to remove the flashing advertisement to the left on this page:

http://www.arvopaperi.fi/

I have tried to read your FAQs, but frankly, they are not much of a help, if you are not "in the business", but simply a user who is tired of ads.
Back to top
kstahl
Support


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 1202
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

To block the white banner on the right side, right-click on it and choose Adblock Iframe (or Adblock Image, but Iframe is better). Notice that it's being loaded from http://adserver.adtech.de/ which looks like a typical ad server. Create a filter blocking it, either by entering the entire address:
Code:
http://adserver.adtech.de/
or only a part of it, something like:
Code:
.adtech.de
This will also remove the banner at the top of the page, since it is loaded from the same server.

The banner to the left is a Macromedia Flash object, and not an ordinary image. You still block it with filters as normal, but finding out which filter to use is a little tricker as you can't right-click it directly. The easiest solution is to hit Ctrl+Shift+F which will overlay the banner with a clickable graphic. Left-Click that graphic and you'll get the normal filter dialog for the Flash banner. One part of that URL is very common in ads, so delete everything except that.
Code:
?clickTag=
Press Ctrl+Shift+F again to remove the overlay surfaces.

HTH!
_________________
Adblock 0.5.3.042
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.Cool Gecko/20051111 Firefox/1.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bernt
Guest





PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2004    Post subject: ? Reply with quote

Sorry to be annoying, but ctrl+shift+F does not seem to affect the flash-object in any way?
Back to top
rue
Developer


Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Posts: 752

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perchance you're on a mac, try: cmd+shift+f.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bernt
Guest





PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

No, I am at home Smile

using a pc and not getting the flash object to react in any way by "hitting" ctrl+shift+F. You do mean the letter "F"?
Back to top
kstahl
Support


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 1202
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, press and hold down the Control key, the Shift key, and the key with the letter F, at the same time to toggle Flash overlay.

Another way is to go to Tools > Adblock > Preferences
then click on Options, and turn on Obj-Tabs.

This will give you a small tag on Flash movies, which you can click to bring up the filter dialog.
_________________
Adblock 0.5.3.042
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.Cool Gecko/20051111 Firefox/1.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bernt
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am doing exactly what you say, but the object keeps on flashing, no visible tag.
Back to top
kstahl
Support


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 1202
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try Ctrl+Shift+F on other pages. If it doesn't work there either your install of Adblock must be borked.

Try doing a local install by downloading the XPI file from this page
http://adblock.mozdev.org/dev.html

Then drag it onto an open browser window. Don't forget to completely restart the browser afterwards.
_________________
Adblock 0.5.3.042
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.Cool Gecko/20051111 Firefox/1.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Org



Joined: 23 Oct 2003
Posts: 349

PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bernt didn't mention what browser he is using. Maybe his browser version reserves ctrl-shift-f for something else?

Bernt, did you try using the flash overlay function using the menu (like kstahl adviced)?

Three of my filters activate on that page:

/https?:\/\/r?ad([sz]?|images?|img|tech|serv(er?)?)\./
/\/banner([sz]?\/|it\/|\.cgi|\.pl|farm\/|link\.|_pysty\.gif|source\.|.?\d*\.)/
?clickTag=
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bernt
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am using Firefox 0.9.3. If the idea is that all flashes should be overlayed, I seem to have the problem also in other pages. For instance, the flash at this site

http://www.nasa.gov/home/index.html

does not react in any way to ctrl+shift+F, or to the menu-option. My adblock version is v0.5 d2 Nightly* build37.
Back to top
kstahl
Support


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 1202
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah, that probably explains it. n37 is an outdated and buggy version of Adblock. As I said earlier, install the latest n39 from the dev page:

http://adblock.mozdev.org/dev.html
_________________
Adblock 0.5.3.042
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.Cool Gecko/20051111 Firefox/1.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bernt
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

kstahl, should I uninstall my previous version of adblock before local install?
Back to top
kstahl
Support


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 1202
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure it is really necessary, but it will probably be for the best. Don't forget to save your filter list first.
_________________
Adblock 0.5.3.042
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.Cool Gecko/20051111 Firefox/1.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Org



Joined: 23 Oct 2003
Posts: 349

PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Uninstalling shouldn't touch the filter list, since the list lives inside prefs.js. But that doesn't mean that taking a backup of the list isn't a good idea.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kstahl
Support


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 1202
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fair enough. Better safe than sorry is my motto.
_________________
Adblock 0.5.3.042
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.Cool Gecko/20051111 Firefox/1.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bernt
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, with build39 everything works nicely. Thank you!
Back to top
Guest
Guest





PostPosted: Mon Sep 20, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

All you need to do is put in the following filters:

*/ads*
*/banner*
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Adblock Project Forum Index -> Main All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group