The Adblock Project Forum Index The Adblock Project
Pull up a seat ...stay a while.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

What's this option for? Also, more on filtering, and RegExp!

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Adblock Project Forum Index -> Main
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
zero ant



Joined: 14 Aug 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004    Post subject: What's this option for? Also, more on filtering, and RegExp! Reply with quote

1. First of all, can you please explain me what are these options for: Check Parent Links and Site Blocking? And would you also mind to give me an example about the difference between activating those options on or off? It would be nice if this 2 options explained in one of those sticky.

2. Ctrl+Shift+K can be categorized as hidden feature! There's not even a menu/context-menu/options/text/hint-text regarding this feature (except in this site). There's only this "underline" in the Adblock statusbar which of course doesn't help much for new (and some old) users. So, rue?

3. If we see the list of all blockables when viewing an "infected" site, there would be some italicized items which actually is the blocked item. My question: is this blocked list accurate? Is it possible that some blocked item is not logged correctly (embedded object, frame link, multi-frame page)?

4. Just a clarification concerning regular expression syntax/symbols. From my experiments, certain symbols such as /, &, - and = doesn't need to be preceded with backslash \. This is just an information though, so then we wouldn't encounter any filters like:
/http:\/\/ads?\d/ ---> those \ / Confused

The only characters that must be preceded by backslash are:
$ ^ * + \ | ( ) [ { . ?

Additionally, Adblock will fail when encountering these characters in the regexp rules:
` < > "

The other (standard) keyboard characters can be either typed in singles, or preceded with backslash.


5. I tried this filter:
Code:
/://aasted\.org/adblock/login\.php\?logout=true&sid=/
...to remove the [Log out] image on top of this forum (members only ;p).

Basically, I tried to remove this (a) tag:
Code:
<html><body>
<a href="http://aasted.org/adblock/login.php?logout=true&sid=e17<mysessionid>a86">
<img src="http://aasted.org/adblock/templates/subSilver/images/icon_mini_login.gif"
 width="12" height="13" border="0" hspace="3" />Log out [ rue ]</a>
</body></html>
(Tip: Guests, you can save the above code as a .html file and open it via Firefox to test it too.)

FYI, I turned Collapse Blocked Elements on. Now, instead of removing the whole (a) tag, it just removing the image. The href and the text remains. It's a bit odd especially because the filtered code is the one in the (a href=...) tag, not the one in the (img src=...) tag. Explanation?


Well, that's it for now I guess ^_^
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kstahl
Support


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 1202
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. http://aasted.org/adblock/viewtopic.php?t=624

2. True. The docs are somewhat lacking.

3. It's been known to stumble on some pages. Mostly because of silly scripts or strange frames. If you find that items are being blocked without seeming to match the corresponding filter, it's probably triggered by Check Parent Links.

4. That's right. I just double-checked, and you don't actually need to escape the forward slashes. I've always done it, because it's done in the examples on this page. Yay, hive mind!

As for ` < > " they are not valid URL characters, so I'm not surprised.
_________________
Adblock 0.5.3.042
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.Cool Gecko/20051111 Firefox/1.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zachariah



Joined: 21 Jul 2004
Posts: 703
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

kstahl wrote:
As for ` < > " they are not valid URL characters, so I'm not surprised.
They would have to be encoded:
http://www.blooberry.com/indexdot/html/topics/urlencoding.htm
_________________
Latest Adblock!

If all else fails try a really fresh install of Firefox
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zero ant



Joined: 14 Aug 2004
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

kstahl wrote:
1. http://aasted.org/adblock/viewtopic.php?t=624
OK

Quote:
Guest wrote:
- Site Blocking

If you try to go to a blocked site you'll get a special Adblock page instead. If this is turned off you'd get the real site but without any images on it.

XSo... that's what it is for. But I've noticed a diffference between the two (other than the special page). If Site Blocking is off, and you open a site which is filtered, the browser will still query (or try to open) the url and if the site is redirecting you to somewhere else then you'll be redirected. Then when the browser try to load the page (the .html), it would be blocked - showing only a blank page. In other word, the browser still able to request the filtered page, but then unable to load it because it's blocked. -- In the other hand, if Site Blocking is on, the browser won't be able to request the filtered page at all. Thus the (Untitled) appears in the tab/titlebar and the address bar is blank (which isn't if Site Blocking is off).X
Edit: my bad. I didn't read this well: If this is turned off you'd get the real site but without any images on it. Besides, the url I tried for the above statement is not actually a site url, it's an url which redirect me to certain file (which contains filtered url).

Another matter on Site Blocking (when it is on). If I open a filtered url in a new window or by typing it in the address bar dirctly, the Adblock special page is well shown. The problem is when I open the filtered url in a new tab (by right-clicking>>open-link-in-new-tab or by middle-clicking), the Adblock special page will not show! Can this be fixed?

And about my first post, point #5. I just realised that the image is blocked because I activate Check Parent Links. (And I still think it's odd.) Anyway, thanks for the above link, kstahl!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Adblock Project Forum Index -> Main All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group