The Adblock Project Forum Index The Adblock Project
Pull up a seat ...stay a while.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Icon instead of Adblock text is status bar

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Adblock Project Forum Index -> Main
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Ali
Guest





PostPosted: Sun Jul 18, 2004    Post subject: Icon instead of Adblock text is status bar Reply with quote

Hi,
Many people haere and at mozillazine have given the opinion that a icon like for pop-up windows or CSS style sheets would be better looking than the Adblock text in the status bar. can the devs please add this feature.
Thanks
Back to top
Zachariah



Joined: 21 Jul 2004
Posts: 703
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

I second this request!

(also there was a thread here or there which suggested something about additional functionality of the button, but I can't find the thread right now)
_________________
Latest Adblock!

If all else fails try a really fresh install of Firefox
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zachariah



Joined: 21 Jul 2004
Posts: 703
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

found it:
Luftpost wrote:
It would be espically nice if you could turn off/on Adblock with a single click.
Anonymous wrote:
I think it makes sense to have it in the statusbar by the popup icon, since the functionality is similar. Having it appear/disappear like the popup icon probably wouldn't work, since the Adblock button is useful even when nothing on the current page is being blocked. I think a better solution than removing it would be to replace it with a smaller graphic (along the lines of the popup or "lock" icons). Then you could even take that to the next step and have the icon by grey when nothing on the current page is being blocked, but colored if something is. ^_^ I think that would be cool.

_________________
Latest Adblock!

If all else fails try a really fresh install of Firefox
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aliumalik



Joined: 20 Jul 2004
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

You know there should be a feature request forum for AdBlock Sad can the devs listen to use down here? Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kstahl
Support


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 1202
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

They listen, but they are very busy.
_________________
Adblock 0.5.3.042
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.Cool Gecko/20051111 Firefox/1.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aliumalik



Joined: 20 Jul 2004
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Mon Jul 26, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

It could be like the popup icon. single click reveals a menu with options like adding a new filter, turning adblock temporarily off etc and double clicking reveals the adblock-able items window.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Monzi
Guest





PostPosted: Sat Jul 31, 2004    Post subject: modded Version with Icon Reply with quote

Hi,

i've just made an icon for adblock and modded the latest Build a little bit. So you have now an icon instead of text in the statusbar. I also activated the right click context menu and with left mouse button you can see the blockable items, and with the middle mouse button you get the preferences.

The results can be seen here:
http://www.think-clear.de/extensions/

please tell me what you think.
Back to top
aliumalik



Joined: 20 Jul 2004
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Sat Jul 31, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Very nice effort!
The thing is close to what I suggested but single clicking should show a menu with options
1) Enable/Disable AdBlock
2) View Ad-lockable items
3) AdBlock Options
4) Add new Filter
right clicking opens adblockable items and middle click opens prefs
The Icon can be improved though. I think someone should contact Arvid for this icon as he can make some excellent stuff.
Regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zachariah



Joined: 21 Jul 2004
Posts: 703
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat Jul 31, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

could we please have a screenshot of the icon (and/or menu)?
( free image hosting http://www.imageshack.us/ -- no registration required)

I make icons as well, and may give it a shot depending on what it looks like. now
_________________
Latest Adblock!

If all else fails try a really fresh install of Firefox
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Monzi
Guest





PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, i now changed the context menu, but it is still on the right mouse button, i think it is better this way.
Here is a screenshot:
Back to top
goddy12



Joined: 04 Jul 2004
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Really a good work.
The context menue works great. I think thats the right way.

Now I have only one Problem. I can't see if quick block is on or off.
You put different icons into the adblock.jar but my firefox only view
adblock1.png when adblock is on and adblock3.png when adblock is off.
I can't see a difference by pushing strg+shift+k .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Monzi
Guest





PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok i added the old dashed line Smile
Back to top
goddy12



Joined: 04 Jul 2004
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank's a lot, this works.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
goddy12



Joined: 04 Jul 2004
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

After more testing I found a bug.

When I go on the new adblock context menue (right mouse klick on statusbar icon) and choose add filter, the filter dialog box open. When I insert the filter and push OK the box keep open. I expect that the box close.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Monzi
Guest





PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

You're right that was a bug, but i fixed it Smile
Back to top
goddy12



Joined: 04 Jul 2004
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Aug 01, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank's. It works fine.

Now I added your modifications to my german translation of Adblock. Hope you don't mind.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest






PostPosted: Mon Aug 02, 2004    Post subject: Re: modded Version with Icon Reply with quote

Monzi wrote:
Hi,

i've just made an icon for adblock and modded the latest Build a little bit. ...
please tell me what you think.


Thank you! Good job.
Back to top
aliumalik



Joined: 20 Jul 2004
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well I made something for an icon. Tell me what you guys think
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zachariah



Joined: 21 Jul 2004
Posts: 703
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

I like that one.
_________________
Latest Adblock!

If all else fails try a really fresh install of Firefox
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest






PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

icon is a little big, no?
Back to top
Monzi
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also think its a little bit, but i like it Smile
Back to top
aliumalik



Joined: 20 Jul 2004
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

lol i know but I can only use photoshop and it does not save icon files Sad who needs the PSD? (to make the icon)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zachariah



Joined: 21 Jul 2004
Posts: 703
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have Microangleo and photoshop and would be willing to make the .ico file for you. What resolution(s) do you need it at? (a standard Windows application .ico contains at 16x16, 32x32, and 48x48 pixel images)

email the psd file to convert at gmail
_________________
Latest Adblock!

If all else fails try a really fresh install of Firefox
.


Last edited by Zachariah on Tue Aug 03, 2004; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Monzi



Joined: 03 Aug 2004
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

In the Statusbar is no icon file. It is a PNG Picture and you need to make the background transparent.
Actually there need to be 4 of this icons:
1. unloaded
2. active
3. active highlight
4. disabled

Actually I used a 20x20 Format.


Last edited by Monzi on Tue Aug 03, 2004; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zachariah



Joined: 21 Jul 2004
Posts: 703
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue Aug 03, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was kinda wondering that. It makes more sense for it to be PNG -- I'd assume it should be PNG-24 so it would blend well. (File -> Save for web...)
_________________
Latest Adblock!

If all else fails try a really fresh install of Firefox
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zockman
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004    Post subject: My Icons Reply with quote

I've created some icons as well:

1. unloaded

2. active

3. active highlight

4. disabled


Here's a screenshot:
Back to top
kstahl
Support


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 1202
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

I really like those icons, Zockman. They are very clear and crisp.
_________________
Adblock 0.5.3.042
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.Cool Gecko/20051111 Firefox/1.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ender
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

I love this idea and I would be using it if I didn't have one small (well maybe not that small) problem. This version of adblock causes Firefox to crash.

When I click on links that are meant to open a popup (i.e. javscript stuff) firefox crashes. I've gone through and checked all my other extensions (and the normal Adblock) and I do not have the same problem while using them.

I've tried using the same filters with both versions of Adblock.

I have:
Firefox 0.9.1+ (Build Dated August 4th 2004)
Windows XP SP1

Extensions installed (I'm not sure why you'd need to know but w/e):
Adblock
CuteMenus
IE View
Paste and Go
Show Failed URL
TBE
Download Statusbar

If there is any more information you need please ask me
Back to top
aliumalik



Joined: 20 Jul 2004
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Zachariah wrote:
I have Microangleo and photoshop and would be willing to make the .ico file for you. What resolution(s) do you need it at? (a standard Windows application .ico contains at 16x16, 32x32, and 48x48 pixel images)

email the psd file to convert at gmail


I uploaded it here. Anyone can download and try to imporve it . Then post the icons here and we might make a poll to decide the best one. What do you guys think?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest






PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

Here is my shot at making some cool icons for this sweet extension. Wink

Cheers

- Unloaded
- Active
- Active Highlight
- Disabled
Back to top
Comrade Cruz



Joined: 06 Aug 2004
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

^^^^^^^

The guest from the previous post is actually me. I forgot to log in. Embarassed Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aliumalik



Joined: 20 Jul 2004
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice work Comrade Cruz but the cross seems a little out of place to me maybe move it a little lower or something. If any of the developers allow I can post a thread at mozillazine. We can get more people to contribute that way.
Regards
Ali
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kstahl
Support


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 1202
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you do, you should clearly state in the thread that it is for an unofficial modified version of Adblock, in no way affiliated with the Adblock devs. It might be a good idea to migrate all discussion of that version to the extensions forum on Mozillazine. They key point is too avoid confusion about official/modified versions.

Just my 2 cents.

There is little or no chance that the icons will be added in the official version, I think.
_________________
Adblock 0.5.3.042
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.Cool Gecko/20051111 Firefox/1.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zachariah



Joined: 21 Jul 2004
Posts: 703
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's too bad -- I think an icon would be a nice touch.

Hey, I like everyone's icons, but I have a question ... why is everyone capitalizing the "d" in "Ad" (as in "AD")? To me it just looks a little funny.

I really like the "tab" looking icons Comrade Cruz made, except I am not fond of the black -- but the tab shape makes sense, since that's already part of Adblock. That icon would be a pretty cool replacement for the big honking object tags currenly displayed in the page -- it would be much less obtrusive.

Maybe the icon in the task bar should be desinged with replacing-the-objects-tags in mind, as well. Or at least have them look very similar to each other.
_________________
Latest Adblock!

If all else fails try a really fresh install of Firefox
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
aliumalik



Joined: 20 Jul 2004
Posts: 15

PostPosted: Fri Aug 06, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

kstahl wrote:

There is little or no chance that the icons will be added in the official version, I think.


Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad Crying or Very sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rue
Developer


Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Posts: 752

PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are two important points to consider when releasing a modified Adblock:
i. The official builds are tested for all versions of the browser.
ii. Every UI-detail is considered and deliberate.
Adblock will not overload its status-element with a right-click menu; that's not kewl. But don't worry- the functionality you want in that region is coming. The element itself will also not be shrinking to the icon-size described above. Icon-submissions are welcome, but they need to maintain the general region-bounds currently in place.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zachariah



Joined: 21 Jul 2004
Posts: 703
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon Aug 09, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, that's good to know. It's also really good to hear a dev chiming in -- it shows you care (which of course we all already knew Wink) -- thanks rue!
_________________
Latest Adblock!

If all else fails try a really fresh install of Firefox
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Guest
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2004    Post subject: Use icons you already have. Reply with quote

I like the adblock exlamation point. Just put that at the bottom instead, and I'd be fine. Sure, it's a little big, but you could shrink it a bit. If you wanted to show whether or not adblock is active, make a slightly faded version of it or something.

It's a good idea. After all, mozilla and the like all have their own icons in the status bar anyways (ex. whether you're on a secure connection or not). It'd be a great addition. (Oh, and lose the dashed line underneath too. Wink)
Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Fri Aug 20, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

In addition to what I posted above, I'd just like to say you guys are doing a great job, I'm glad you guys came in with your inside info and I hope you keep at it! Thanks for all your hard work!
Back to top
Guest
Guest





PostPosted: Sat Sep 04, 2004    Post subject: Icon Reply with quote

is ther a possiblity to get the Version, with The ICON-Switching, which is running with the Firefox re 1.0PR?

Kind Regards
Back to top
Guest






PostPosted: Sun May 01, 2005    Post subject: Reply with quote

goddy12 wrote:
Thank's. It works fine.

Now I added your modifications to my german translation of Adblock. Hope you don't mind.
Wo kann man die saugen?
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Adblock Project Forum Index -> Main All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group