The Adblock Project Forum Index The Adblock Project
Pull up a seat ...stay a while.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Unable to enable Adblock

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Adblock Project Forum Index -> Main
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
stan



Joined: 12 Jun 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2006    Post subject: Unable to enable Adblock Reply with quote

On iMac G5, 10.3.9 with latest Firefox. Installed Adblock; Enable Adblock checked, restarted FF and still getting "Adblock not enabled" message. Repeatedly. Also after rebooting computer.
Thanks for any advice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nate-o



Joined: 01 Jul 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Jul 01, 2006    Post subject: Re: Unable to enable Adblock Reply with quote

I am having the exact same problem and I can't figure out why it started happening (AB worked flawlessly for months), or how to fix it.

The only thing I can vaguely point to is that about a week ago, my OSX software updated and since then, AB has stopped working. In fact, Forecastfox stopped working too, but somehow, it started working again on its own.

AB just shows "Pending" no matter what I restart, or what prefs I change.

Any thoughts out there? Thanks in advance...

stan wrote:
On iMac G5, 10.3.9 with latest Firefox. Installed Adblock; Enable Adblock checked, restarted FF and still getting "Adblock not enabled" message. Repeatedly. Also after rebooting computer.
Thanks for any advice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
nate-o



Joined: 01 Jul 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Jul 01, 2006    Post subject: A fix... Reply with quote

It's the most obvious one and the last thing I thought of!

Just uninstall/reinstall AB (not filterset G) and that should work. It worked for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
macninja



Joined: 23 Jul 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Jul 23, 2006    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you using an Intel Mac? I found that the only way to get Adblock to work on my MacBook Pro is to force Firefox to run in Rosetta.

Go to Firefox in your Applications folder, highlight it and hit Apple I, put a tick in "Open Using Rosetta"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Adblock Project Forum Index -> Main All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group