The Adblock Project Forum Index The Adblock Project
Pull up a seat ...stay a while.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Is Adblock 0.5 d3 nightly 42 safe to use now in Mozilla?

 
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    The Adblock Project Forum Index -> Main
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ant



Joined: 27 Mar 2005
Posts: 27
Location: An Ant Farm

PostPosted: Sun Jan 29, 2006    Post subject: Is Adblock 0.5 d3 nightly 42 safe to use now in Mozilla? Reply with quote

About a month ago, others and I had problems with a newer build of Adblock as seen in: http://aasted.org/adblock/viewtopic.php?t=2712 ...

Two problems:
1. Mozilla suites (e.g., v1.7.12)
2. Linux (e.g., Debian) cannot install.

Adblock 0.5 d2 nightly 39 worked just fine. Have these issues been fixed yet with the newest nighyly build?
_________________
Ant @ The Ant Farm: http://antfarm.ma.cx and AQFL: http://aqfl.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
azrael



Joined: 22 Jan 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2006    Post subject: Reply with quote

I reported adblock v.5 d3 * nightly 42 installation problems on mozilla 1.7.11/linux two weeks ago, nobody replied.

I guess the I would have similar problem with Mozilla 1.7.12.

Do the developpers read this list ? Where should I report bugs ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ant



Joined: 27 Mar 2005
Posts: 27
Location: An Ant Farm

PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2006    Post subject: Reply with quote

azrael wrote:
I reported adblock v.5 d3 * nightly 42 installation problems on mozilla 1.7.11/linux two weeks ago, nobody replied.

I guess the I would have similar problem with Mozilla 1.7.12.

Do the developpers read this list ? Where should I report bugs ?
Wow, nice debugging there.

Did you ever try AdBlock Plus? I never got that to work either. Now that SeaMonkey v1.0 final is out. I wonder if that even works with this old AdBlock d2 b39. I am holding off to use SeaMonkey until my extensions are supported. I hate ads!! Smile
_________________
Ant @ The Ant Farm: http://antfarm.ma.cx and AQFL: http://aqfl.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
azrael



Joined: 22 Jan 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2006    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi ant,

I tried to install AdBlock Plus 0.5.11.2 on Mozilla 1.7.12/Linux into my personal folder and I hit the same problem as described above: It wants to put files in the global installation installation directory (/usr/lib/mozilla-1.7.12).

So I tried to install Adblock Plus 0.6.1+ from http://p2.forumforfree.com/16-vt450-adblockplus.html?start=225 and this version clearly warned me :
Quote:
WARNING: You need administrator privileges to install Adblock Plus. It will be installed
in the application directory for all users. Installing Adblock Plus in your profile is
currently not supported in Mozilla Suite and Seamonkey. Proceed with the installation ?


Finally I logged in as root and I installed AdBlock Plus 0.5.11.2 in the application directory. It seems to work fine for all the users.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ant



Joined: 27 Mar 2005
Posts: 27
Location: An Ant Farm

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2006    Post subject: Reply with quote

azrael wrote:
Hi ant,

I tried to install AdBlock Plus 0.5.11.2 on Mozilla 1.7.12/Linux into my personal folder and I hit the same problem as described above: It wants to put files in the global installation installation directory (/usr/lib/mozilla-1.7.12).

So I tried to install Adblock Plus 0.6.1+ from http://p2.forumforfree.com/16-vt450-adblockplus.html?start=225 and this version clearly warned me :
Quote:
WARNING: You need administrator privileges to install Adblock Plus. It will be installed
in the application directory for all users. Installing Adblock Plus in your profile is
currently not supported in Mozilla Suite and Seamonkey. Proceed with the installation ?


Finally I logged in as root and I installed AdBlock Plus 0.5.11.2 in the application directory. It seems to work fine for all the users.
Interesting. I don't remember if I tried root access installation. Why does it require it?

I am still using the old v0.5 d2 Nightly 39. It works decently. I plan to switch to Seamonkey later on and I don't think the old Adblock will work with it.

How do you like Adblock Plus so far?
_________________
Ant @ The Ant Farm: http://antfarm.ma.cx and AQFL: http://aqfl.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
azrael



Joined: 22 Jan 2006
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2006    Post subject: Reply with quote

ant wrote:
Interesting. I don't remember if I tried root access installation. Why does it require it?

Only root can write files in /usr and subdirectories.

Even if you choose to install in your personal directory (i.e. /home/ant/.mozilla), Adblock installation requires to put some files in the application directory (i.e. /usr/lib/mozilla-1.7.12), and only root have sufficient privileges to write there. I finally performed an installation in the application directory to put all the adblock files there.

pros: all the users have adblock fully installed
cons: only root can change the adblock version (or uninstall it).

ant wrote:
How do you like Adblock Plus so far?

it's too soon to tell you something. I appears to works, that's great. I really need this extension! I cannot do without it any more.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ant



Joined: 27 Mar 2005
Posts: 27
Location: An Ant Farm

PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2006    Post subject: Reply with quote

azrael wrote:
ant wrote:
Interesting. I don't remember if I tried root access installation. Why does it require it?

Only root can write files in /usr and subdirectories.

Even if you choose to install in your personal directory (i.e. /home/ant/.mozilla), Adblock installation requires to put some files in the application directory (i.e. /usr/lib/mozilla-1.7.12), and only root have sufficient privileges to write there. I finally performed an installation in the application directory to put all the adblock files there.

pros: all the users have adblock fully installed
cons: only root can change the adblock version (or uninstall it).

ant wrote:
How do you like Adblock Plus so far?

it's too soon to tell you something. I appears to works, that's great. I really need this extension! I cannot do without it any more.
Ahh, thanks. Let me know how it goes before I try it. Smile
_________________
Ant @ The Ant Farm: http://antfarm.ma.cx and AQFL: http://aqfl.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
davidsoe



Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Location: Hopewell Jct., New York USA

PostPosted: Thu Feb 16, 2006    Post subject: Adblock and Seamonkey 1.0 Reply with quote

Just as a point of information: so far, I haven't found any version of Adblock or Adblock Plus that works stably with Seamonkey. Adblock 40+ blocks ads but causes excessive crashes.

If anyone knows of any Adblock that works with Seamonkey, I'm all ears!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chewey



Joined: 20 Feb 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006    Post subject: Re: Adblock and Seamonkey 1.0 Reply with quote

davidsoe wrote:
If anyone knows of any Adblock that works with Seamonkey, I'm all ears!


Well, the recent AB+ development build available at
http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=266291 works
just fine with my SeaMonkey 1.0 installation.

You may want to have a look at my smaller-icon-mod of this version
at http://chewey.de/mozilla/adblock-icon-mod.html to prevent
the icon to broaden your status bar. (german page but english AB+)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mcm_ham



Joined: 17 Dec 2004
Posts: 310

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006    Post subject: Reply with quote

The whole install/deinstall of extensions in Mozilla/Seamonkey is rather troublesome. Sometimes you need a new profile and new program directory to get Adblock working again without problems. This is likely to remain to be the case until Seamonkey adopts Firefox's toolkit introducing the extension manager.
http://wiki.mozilla.org/SeaMonkey:Toolkit_Transition

davidsoe you may want to try Seamonkey 1.0 in case you are using the latest trunk build. There's been a few times now that bugs in the browser has caused instability when used with Adblock.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
davidsoe



Joined: 16 Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Location: Hopewell Jct., New York USA

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2006    Post subject: My Experiences with Seamonkey (and Yahoo) Reply with quote

I've tried all the suggestions mentioned in this forum plus the latest released Adblock and Adblock Plus. No matter what I do, I've noticed instablity with Adblock installed on Seamonkey 1.0. Inadvertently, my testing has always been done while I was in Yahoo Mail.
I've noticed that there's another thread within this forum on Adblock and Yahoo. Apparently many people are having a problem with the two of them co-existing.
I like Adblock. It still works fine on 1.7.12 (v0.5) but not on Seamonkey 1.0. I plan to wait a while and use Hosts until the Yahoo problem is ascertained and fixed. Thanks for your help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ant



Joined: 27 Mar 2005
Posts: 27
Location: An Ant Farm

PostPosted: Sun Feb 26, 2006    Post subject: Re: My Experiences with Seamonkey (and Yahoo) Reply with quote

davidsoe wrote:
I've tried all the suggestions mentioned in this forum plus the latest released Adblock and Adblock Plus. No matter what I do, I've noticed instablity with Adblock installed on Seamonkey 1.0. Inadvertently, my testing has always been done while I was in Yahoo Mail.
I've noticed that there's another thread within this forum on Adblock and Yahoo. Apparently many people are having a problem with the two of them co-existing.
I like Adblock. It still works fine on 1.7.12 (v0.5) but not on Seamonkey 1.0. I plan to wait a while and use Hosts until the Yahoo problem is ascertained and fixed. Thanks for your help.
Yep, been there done that but I haven't tried SeaMonkey yet. It seems like there are problems in it too. I am waiting for all my extensions and plugins to be fully updated for it. Mozilla is still fine for me for now. Even Debian's apt-get doesn't have SeaMonkey yet.
_________________
Ant @ The Ant Farm: http://antfarm.ma.cx and AQFL: http://aqfl.net
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    The Adblock Project Forum Index -> Main All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group