The Adblock Project Forum Index The Adblock Project
Pull up a seat ...stay a while.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

How do I stop adblock blocking on non-commercial sites?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Adblock Project Forum Index -> Main
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
sh
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2004    Post subject: How do I stop adblock blocking on non-commercial sites? Reply with quote

I need to build a list of sites that adblock will allow any content. For example, Adblock currently blocks images from by online bank. Is there an option to instrruct adblock that any content is allowed from specifed sites?

thanks,
sh
Back to top
Zachariah



Joined: 21 Jul 2004
Posts: 703
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

whitelisting is not yet implemented
(but is an expected feature in future versions)

http://aasted.org/adblock/viewtopic.php?t=1052
http://aasted.org/adblock/viewtopic.php?t=978
http://aasted.org/adblock/viewtopic.php?t=945
http://aasted.org/adblock/viewtopic.php?t=914
http://aasted.org/adblock/viewtopic.php?p=4956#4956
http://aasted.org/adblock/viewtopic.php?p=4661#4661
http://aasted.org/adblock/viewtopic.php?t=825

http://aasted.org/adblock/search.php - "whitelist"
_________________
• Latest Adblock!

• If all else fails try a really fresh install of Firefox
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
idbehold



Joined: 03 Oct 2004
Posts: 174

PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you need a better filter, if you aren't already, i recommend using filterset.G (read the file called '-instructions.txt' at the top)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sh
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. I currently use filterset.G. I find it very useful, but think that it has too many false positives.
Back to top
G



Joined: 10 Oct 2004
Posts: 550

PostPosted: Tue Dec 28, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please report false positives from Filterset.G to pierceive [at] yahoo.
_________________
Filterset.G
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Guest






PostPosted: Thu Dec 30, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bit of a suggestion while whitelisting isn't available, have a firefox window alone with the site you want, use CTRL SHIFT B (for a PC, they say cmd in the hotkeys instead of CTRL for the general case), then refresh, do your stuff, then redo the CTRL SHIFT B to re-enable blocking. It's a workaround, I know, but it isn't that bad cause there's a keyboard shortcut. If you already knew this I apologize, although I hope I've helped, at least for now.
Back to top
Bobby_Peru



Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2005    Post subject: Reply with quote

Anonymous wrote:
Bit of a suggestion while whitelisting isn't available, have a firefox window alone with the site you want, use CTRL SHIFT B (for a PC, they say cmd in the hotkeys instead of CTRL for the general case), then refresh, do your stuff, then redo the CTRL SHIFT B to re-enable blocking. It's a workaround, I know, but it isn't that bad cause there's a keyboard shortcut. If you already knew this I apologize, although I hope I've helped, at least for now.
Here, in Win2K, shutting down AB in one Window of FF (1.0), turns it off in other Windows as well (even _seemingly_ new instances of FF). If it would work the way you suggest, that would be great! Clicking the FF desktop Icon will open a new Window, but Task Manager does not list this as a second instance of FF. I don't know if this is related to having TBE in place.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kstahl
Support


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 1202
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2005    Post subject: Reply with quote

Firefox only runs one instance.
_________________
Adblock 0.5.3.042
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.Cool Gecko/20051111 Firefox/1.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bobby_Peru



Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Mon Jan 03, 2005    Post subject: Reply with quote

kstahl wrote:
Firefox only runs one instance.
That has been my experience. Not sure what would be achieved by the referenced poster's "workaround".

Hope you had/have Happy Holidays, and will have a great New Year!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ohman
Guest





PostPosted: Thu Jan 06, 2005    Post subject: Reply with quote

workaournd is for disabling Adblock on temp basis.
when you disable adblock that way any new/reloaded site will not be adblocked. already adblocked site will remain so. does not matter how many windows or tabs you have open.
so when you are done with for example your banking site simply enable adblock again.

it is not a solution but it is a very good workaround.
Back to top
Bobby_Peru



Joined: 31 Mar 2004
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Fri Jan 07, 2005    Post subject: Reply with quote

ohman wrote:
workaournd is for disabling Adblock on temp basis.
when you disable adblock that way any new/reloaded site will not be adblocked. already adblocked site will remain so. does not matter how many windows or tabs you have open.
so when you are done with for example your banking site simply enable adblock again.

it is not a solution but it is a very good workaround.
Thanks for clarifying. That would work! The problem arises if running with numerous Tabs auto-refreshing, where disabling AB in any Tab in any window allows the calling of objects in any other one. It becomes an act of timing and speed to get AB back running prior to refresh(es) where unwanted objects lurk...

Then again, for Financial sites/transactions, one might consider having only one Window open, with only Tabs from that particular site open in it for security considerations. Thanks again!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Michaelh
Guest





PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2005    Post subject: Re: How do I stop adblock blocking on non-commercial sites? Reply with quote

I also would like a white list feature implemented.

Thanks

sh wrote:
I need to build a list of sites that adblock will allow any content. For example, Adblock currently blocks images from by online bank. Is there an option to instrruct adblock that any content is allowed from specifed sites?

thanks,
sh
Back to top
Ken Cooper



Joined: 29 Dec 2004
Posts: 110
Location: Holland, MI USA

PostPosted: Sat Jan 08, 2005    Post subject: Reply with quote

kstahl wrote:
Firefox only runs one instance.


...that is if you don't add this to your system variables.



With the above variable you can run as many profiles as you like, all at the same time.
_________________
My Firefox Page
NOTE: Firefox is spelled “F-i-r-e-f-o-x”; only the first letter capitalized. The preferred abbreviation is “Fx” or “fx”.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Adblock Project Forum Index -> Main All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group