The Adblock Project Forum Index The Adblock Project
Pull up a seat ...stay a while.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

0.5 is not visible in Mozilla 1.3

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Adblock Project Forum Index -> Main
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Alex
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2003    Post subject: 0.5 is not visible in Mozilla 1.3 Reply with quote

i have mozilla 1.3 and i tried to use your plugin. it reported it was installed correctly ( i did a profile install, not a root one), but when i restarted the browser i cannot see any new item in the tools menu
Back to top
rue
Developer


Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Posts: 752

PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2003    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alex:
Did you receive an error-msg about root-install, and then choose profile? -- because this was an override-contingency for people with custom-builds.
.
Profile-installing Adblock only works for browser-builds later than June 24th, 2003.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kusti
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2003    Post subject: Reply with quote

I remember I had the same problem with mozilla 1.3 (on linux)
Now I have 1.4.1 and I can see adblock item on tools menu.
Unfortunately it doesent block anything Sad I can add filters but it just doesent work.
Back to top
rue
Developer


Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Posts: 752

PostPosted: Fri Nov 21, 2003    Post subject: Reply with quote

kusti:
The same applies to 1.4.1 -- look here.
.
The date on those files is one day prior to the landing of runtime component-registration. 1.4.1 was only a stability patch on 1.4.


Alex and kusti:
For your builds, you'll need to install to root for Adblock to function properly. Out of curiousity: what was the message that allowed you to install to profile -- did it say "root install failed.." ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Alex
Guest





PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2003    Post subject: Reply with quote

rue wrote:

Alex and kusti:
For your builds, you'll need to install to root for Adblock to function properly. Out of curiousity: what was the message that allowed you to install to profile -- did it say "root install failed.." ?
yes
Back to top
rue
Developer


Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Posts: 752

PostPosted: Sat Nov 22, 2003    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alex:
I've updated the dialog to mention specific version numbers:
"You didn't have permission to install as root.
Would you like to force profile-installation?

[Note: Adblock WILL NOT FUNCTION in the profile for browsers-builds older than 6.24.03. This includes moz1.4.1 and fb.6]"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Adblock Project Forum Index -> Main All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group