The Adblock Project Forum Index The Adblock Project
Pull up a seat ...stay a while.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Can't Adblock images at thesun.co.uk

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Adblock Project Forum Index -> Main
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
EricTheDrave
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Nov 16, 2004    Post subject: Can't Adblock images at thesun.co.uk Reply with quote

On the right-hand side of The Sun Newspaper's home page <http://www.thesun.co.uk/>, there are a series of small images (i.e. "Little John", "Dear Deidre"). When I right-click on them to adblock them, the right-click context menu appears, but also a Javascript pop-up window appears saying:

Quote:

Copyright 2003 News Group Newspapers Ltd and/or its licensors. No use
without permission. Contact enquiries@nisyndication.com [OK]


Somehow that pop-up window prevents me from accessing the right-click context menu, and once I hit OK in the pop-up window, the right-click context menu disappears, so I can't adblock the image this way (or even find out its URL).


I am using:

    Adblock v.5 d2 * nightly 39
    Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.7.5) Gecko/20041111 Firefox/1.0 (Debian package 1.0-2)
Back to top
kstahl
Support


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 1202
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Turn off Javascript temporarily and you can block them as normal.

Tools > Options > Web Features
_________________
Adblock 0.5.3.042
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.Cool Gecko/20051111 Firefox/1.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G



Joined: 10 Oct 2004
Posts: 550

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

...or for a permanent solution:

Tools > Options > Web Features > Advanced
Uncheck "Disable or replace context menus"
_________________
Filterset.G
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
EricTheDrave
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004    Post subject: Thanks very much! Reply with quote

For the record, temporarily disabling javascript worked, but unchecking Disable or Replace Context Menus from the Advanced Web Preferences menu didn't. (Still had the same problem whether or not that box is checked.)
Back to top
sfj



Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 33
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unchecking Disable or Replace Context Menus from the Advanced Web Preferences works for me :
I still have the JS alert, but I can close it and then have the context menu for blocking those images.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Drahken



Joined: 30 Oct 2004
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Those poor attempts to prevent right clicking are just annoying. 99% of them don't even work in gecko based browsers, even if you have the disable menus option checked. They are nothing but an irritant. I wonder if there's a way to disable them using usercontent or userchrome files?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G



Joined: 10 Oct 2004
Posts: 550

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why would you edit usercontent to do something that you can already do?
_________________
Filterset.G
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Drahken



Joined: 30 Oct 2004
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Because you CAN'T disable those popups, not without disabling javascript completely (which causes other problems).
With 99% of these anti-right clicking scripts, you'll get both the context menu and the bothersome popup. The popup is useless and annoying (especially since you have to close it before you can right click again (or even left click, or scroll, or anything else), and you can't close it as soon as it pops up because then the context menu will disappear.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G



Joined: 10 Oct 2004
Posts: 550

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you provide a link to a site with the problem?
_________________
Filterset.G
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Drahken



Joined: 30 Oct 2004
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

The one in the first post of this thread has the problem (although the script is of the 1% that are normally effective). I'll see if I can find a page with one of the ineffective type ones.

Edit: Here's a site with one of the ineffective scripts: http://cards.mtgnews.com/Cards/UH/Mouth_to_Mouth.html If you right click the pic (even with the "disable context menus" option checked), you'll get both the alert and the context menu.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G



Joined: 10 Oct 2004
Posts: 550

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which image? I don't get alerts for any of them.
_________________
Filterset.G
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Drahken



Joined: 30 Oct 2004
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

The card image.
http://allspark.net/cypherswipe/right-click-alertmenu.png
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G



Joined: 10 Oct 2004
Posts: 550

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

What OS are you using?
_________________
Filterset.G
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Drahken



Joined: 30 Oct 2004
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Win98.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G



Joined: 10 Oct 2004
Posts: 550

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not having any problems with XP. Is anyone with XP having the problem, or just other OS's?
_________________
Filterset.G
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Drahken



Joined: 30 Oct 2004
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

It did the same thing to me on XP when my XP system was still working (the HD died a few months ago). Perhaps you already have something in your usercontent or userchrome files that block it?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kstahl
Support


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 1202
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, on the first page discussed in this thread you still get a Alert if you right-click. It doesn't disable your context menu, it simpy pops up the alert.
_________________
Adblock 0.5.3.042
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.Cool Gecko/20051111 Firefox/1.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G



Joined: 10 Oct 2004
Posts: 550

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have never touched my .css files. I'll try messing with all of my settings to see if I can get it to happen.
_________________
Filterset.G
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Drahken



Joined: 30 Oct 2004
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

If my computer was working, I'd simply use proxomitron to edit out the scripting crap. Unforetunately, I'm on a friend's PC, and am limited in how much I can do to it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
G



Joined: 10 Oct 2004
Posts: 550

PostPosted: Wed Nov 17, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm... can't get it to happen. I guess I'm just special.
_________________
Filterset.G
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Drahken



Joined: 30 Oct 2004
Posts: 107

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Back to the original topic: Just click the adblock text in the bottom right corner of the browser, then look for "john.jpg" or whatever, and block it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
cell1527



Joined: 16 Jul 2004
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

mtgnews is always screwed up someway or another, I don't think it has anything to do with adblock, I get probs from them all the time.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Adblock Project Forum Index -> Main All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group