The Adblock Project Forum Index The Adblock Project
Pull up a seat ...stay a while.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

new? background ads

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Adblock Project Forum Index -> Main
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
guest
Guest





PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2004    Post subject: new? background ads Reply with quote

The site nytimes.com is now using background images (in tables) for ads. If I try to block it with Adblock using the popup menu, it sees only a spacer, not the background image. When I tried entering the URL of the background image directly in Adblock it also failed to block the ad. I have read here that some people have had success with this. I don't quite understand how that can be as, I assume, Adblock is looking for an img src tag and the background tag is different.

Is this a feature that can be added in a future version?
Back to top
David
Guest





PostPosted: Thu Jun 24, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which page do you see this on? A url would be helpful.
Back to top
guest
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Jun 25, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

David wrote:
Which page do you see this on? A url would be helpful.


I think they are on all the pages, including the home page. They carry a headline that says "explore nytimes.com" and have a grey background. Here is the (partial) tag:
background="http://graphics7.nytimes.com/marketing/promos/images/photos/62504.jpg"
Back to top
David
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Jun 25, 2004    Post subject: Background images. Reply with quote

You're right! Adding the filter manually also does not block it. On the bright side, it's not an offensive ad. Hopefully it will not be possible to make a background image blink!

I wonder if 0.6 will be able to block background images?

Here is the HTML:
Quote:
<br>
<!-- EDIT PHOTO -->

<td align="left" valign="top" colspan="2" bgcolor="#C8C7C5" background="http://graphics7.nytimes.com/marketing/promos/images/photos/62504.jpg">
<!-- EDIT PHOTO LINK -->
<a href="http://www.nytimes.com/adx/bin/adx_click.html?type=goto&page=homepage.nytimes.com/indexnew.html&pos=Box1&camp=nytnyt-marketingmoduleHP&ad=London_Travel&goto=http://travel2.nytimes.com/top/features/travel/destinations/europe/unitedkingdom/england/london/guide.html">
<!-- END PHOTO-->


<img src="http://graphics7.nytimes.com/ads/images/misc/spacer.gif" width="100%" height="83" alt="" border="0" /></a></td>
</tr>
Back to top
guest
Guest





PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately, the size and number of images varies often, though you are correct that they never blink or flash, so the ads are or can be, at least, distracting when you are trying to read text. While I've never seen or heard of it, I wonder if someone could use an animated .gif as a background?
Back to top
Org



Joined: 23 Oct 2003
Posts: 349

PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm... I didn't see a single ad on the NY Times pages. Only three of my filters seemed to trigger there:

/[.\/_](page|online)?ad(v|_banner|[zs\?]|click|image.php|image[zs]?|serv(er?)?)?[_\/\?]/
/(doubleclick|fastclick|spinbox|falkag)\.net/
/[\/]banner([sz]?\/|it\/|\.cgi|\.pl|farm\/|link\.|_pysty\.gif|source\.|.?\d*\.)/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David
Guest





PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2004    Post subject: Ad on NY times page Reply with quote

Org wrote:
Hmm... I didn't see a single ad on the NY Times pages.


It's a promotion for their own content, so you might not have thought of it as an ad (and your filters, if you're using adblock, would not have blocked it since the text part of the ad was part of the page, not part of an image or frame).
Back to top
freddie
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004    Post subject: Also on yahoo mail? Reply with quote

Yahoo mail is using forms with background images as banner ads.. these also don't show up as "adblock this" in the context menu... it seems that adblock doesn't pick up backgrounds to block?
Back to top
sfj



Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 33
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

guest wrote:
While I've never seen or heard of it, I wonder if someone could use an animated .gif as a background?

Yes it's possible. I do an example here.
You got first the gif as a cell background, then alone as an image in the page.
You might see the problem when trying to do "adblock image" on it :
possible for the image, impossible - at this time, rue if you hear us Wink - for the background.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rue
Developer


Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Posts: 752

PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

sfj:
If clicking the Adblock status-element doesn't reveal the image, post back here which browser/build + platform you're running.
.
Adblock does catch background-images.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sfj



Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 33
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can block the image on my test page ? When I click on "Adblock Image", nothing happens !
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.7) Gecko/20040614 Firefox/0.9
Adblock v0.5 d2 Nightly * build 39
I must have a wicked computer (oh well a Wintel PC ! And on my Mac I huse Safari so it can't help for Adblock...
BTW rue, do we have a chance to see Adblock for Safari ?)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004    Post subject: Background images. Reply with quote

rue wrote:
sfj:
If clicking the Adblock status-element doesn't reveal the image, post back here which browser/build + platform you're running.
.
Adblock does catch background-images.


I'm not sfj, but I'm getting the problem too.

It's on: http://www.nytimes.com/

The graphic itself is partway down the page on the right-hand-side, above "Are you struggling."

I double-checked the list of blockable items popped up when clicking "Adblock" on the status bar, and the image, http://graphics7.nytimes.com/marketing/promos/images/photos/62904.jpg, wasn't there. Here is an excerpt from the HTML:

<!-- EDIT PHOTO -->


<!-- EDIT PHOTO LINK -->

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.7) Gecko/20040628 Firefox/0.9.0+

Adblock n39. (The latest link above.)
Back to top
David
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004    Post subject: Backround ads. Reply with quote

Ooops, I forgot to disable HTML in the post above but I'm glad I didn't because I can't block the image as it appears there.

I wonder if this forum would be listed as a referrer for requests of the ad image? Smile
Back to top
David
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004    Post subject: Background images. Reply with quote

It seems my UA string got gobbled up by the HTML snipped. Here it is again:

Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.7) Gecko/20040628 Firefox/0.9.0+

Adblock n39 (the latest one above).
Back to top
rue
Developer


Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Posts: 752

PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem appears to be: for css/background images, newer Firefox builds don't pass a node to the contentPolicy check. The right-click and "List Adblock-able" options both expect the node to have some adblock-data stored.. which doesn't happen when the node isn't passed.
.
It's worth noting that this behaviour is new.
.
The element can still be blocked, though. Manually adding its relevant url/pattern to Adblock's filter-list will catch and block it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kstahl
Support


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 1202
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, the easiest way is to right-click the image and choose "View Background Image" and then Adblock it as normal.
_________________
Adblock 0.5.3.042
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.Cool Gecko/20051111 Firefox/1.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
David
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

kstahl wrote:
Yes, the easiest way is to right-click the image and choose "View Background Image" and then Adblock it as normal.


It's amazing how one can look at something so many times and not notice it!

I was able to block the ad by manually entering a filter. Alas, I could not use "View Background Image." It visits the image itself, not a page with links to the image and Adblock does not list the url of the visited page.
Back to top
kstahl
Support


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 1202
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

David wrote:
I was able to block the ad by manually entering a filter. Alas, I could not use "View Background Image." It visits the image itself, not a page with links to the image and Adblock does not list the url of the visited page.


Hmm, wasn't Adblock able to do that before? Maybe I'm just hallucinating.

rue,
when I chose "View Background Image" and then right-click it, the Adblock entry is present in the context menu but it is non functional. Is it supposed to be that way?
_________________
Adblock 0.5.3.042
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.Cool Gecko/20051111 Firefox/1.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sfj



Joined: 22 Jun 2004
Posts: 33
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Same way for me...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
guest
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately, this method does not always work -- especially on nytimes.com The background ad is covered by a top image (a transparent gif). So, right-clicking on it, only brings up the normal menu for blocking an ad -- in this case, the transparent gif. I see no way at nytimes.com to hide the background ad using Adblock nightly build 35.
Back to top
kstahl
Support


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 1202
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

You should be able to first block the transparent gif, and after it's gone should be able to view the background image.
_________________
Adblock 0.5.3.042
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.Cool Gecko/20051111 Firefox/1.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Duke



Joined: 02 Dec 2003
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

sfj wrote:
guest wrote:
While I've never seen or heard of it, I wonder if someone could use an animated .gif as a background?

Yes it's possible. I do an example here.
You got first the gif as a cell background, then alone as an image in the page.
You might see the problem when trying to do "adblock image" on it :
possible for the image, impossible - at this time, rue if you hear us Wink - for the background.

i right click on the cell picture and "View Background Image",then right click "Ablock image" and i get a javascript error in the console:

Fehler: data has no properties
Quelldatei: chrome://adblock/content/adblock.js
Zeile: 895

the background picture not blocked from adblock?

Adblock Build 39
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.0; de-AT; rv:1.7) Gecko/20040616


Last edited by Duke on Mon Jul 05, 2004; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rue
Developer


Joined: 22 Oct 2003
Posts: 752

PostPosted: Sun Jul 04, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

kstahl:
when I chose "View Background Image" and then right-click it, the Adblock entry is present in the context menu but it is non functional. Is it supposed to be that way?
.
Standalone elements were simply never given much thought. <-The whole answer :P
(but we'll try and address it for v.6)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kstahl
Support


Joined: 02 Jan 2004
Posts: 1202
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Sun Jul 04, 2004    Post subject: Reply with quote

It would be cool if I didn't have to do the View Background Image step first.

Maybe the context menu could show something like Adblock Background Image?
_________________
Adblock 0.5.3.042
Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.Cool Gecko/20051111 Firefox/1.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Adblock Project Forum Index -> Main All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group