The Adblock Project Forum Index The Adblock Project
Pull up a seat ...stay a while.
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Installation problem

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Adblock Project Forum Index -> Main
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
randall



Joined: 23 Mar 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2006    Post subject: Installation problem Reply with quote

Hi!

I'm using Firefox 1.5.0.1 and am trying to install Adblock. When I click on the Install link, Firefox pops up a window that tells me Software installation is currently disabled and to click the Edit Options button to enable it. Well,,,, For the life of me, I can't find where to enable software installation. Maybe I'm looking right at it, but I sure don't find that option anywhere.
Any ideas?
Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Zachariah



Joined: 21 Jul 2004
Posts: 703
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2006    Post subject: Reply with quote

In 1.5.0.1 that option was replaced by "Content > Warn me when websites try to install extensions or themes" which doesn't seem to do the same exact thing.

My hunch is that if you type about:config in the URL bar, and then type install.enabled in the "Filter:" that your current value is "false".

Double-click the line (or R-click>Toggle) to set it to true.


Let me know if that works.
_________________
Latest Adblock!

If all else fails try a really fresh install of Firefox
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
randall



Joined: 23 Mar 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat Mar 25, 2006    Post subject: Installation problem Reply with quote

Hi Zachariah!

You were RIGHT! I can now install the extensions with no problem. The only difference is that my line was xpinstall.enabled.
I would have never found this on my own, so I really appreciate your help. There was nothing in any online help for this configuration, and you're right about 1.5.0.1 not having the same menu option. I looked at that a dozen times wondering if I was just missing the obvious!
Thanks again!
Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Adblock Project Forum Index -> Main All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group